Back to News

Robertson School students and faculty win big during spring award season

May 21, 2020

Posted in: News

Members of the Robertson School community were honored with many awards during the spring semester.

Students, faculty and staff at the Robertson School of Media and Culture have been honored with multiple prestigious national, regional and university recognitions during spring award season.

Accolades for students included Mark of Excellence Awards from the Society of Professional Journalists, ADDY Awards from the American Advertising Federation, a One Show Young Ones Award, a Dow Jones Fund Internship, a Virginia Public Relations Award, Critical Language Scholarships from the U.S. Department of State, and Black History in the Making Awards.

Faculty won an International ABERJE Award for their research, a Healthcare Advertising Award, a University Excellence in Service-Learning Faculty Award recognition as well as the VCU Presidential Award for Community Multicultural Enrichment.

Please read the following stories about the various awards members of the Robertson School community received this spring semester.


Advertising Awards:

Robertson School celebrates international One Show winner

Advertising students win regional and local ADDY Awards

Professor Adams wins Healthcare Advertising Award


Journalism Awards:

Robertson School journalism students win three national awards

SPJ honors 24 VCU entries in Mark of Excellence contest

Journalism students earn national recognition in Hearst Awards


Public Relations Awards:

PR students win community award for their work with local foundation

PR student wins Dow Jones News Fund internship


Research Awards and Scholarships:

Robertson School faculty win top research awards at international conference

Robertson School students named Critical Language Scholars by State Department

Media+Health Lab research team wins International ABERJE Award


University Awards:

Dr. Alkazemi honored with Presidential Award for Community Multicultural Enrichment

Members of Robertson School Receive 'Black History in the Making' Award

Professors Rowe and Collins honored for 2020 CreateAthon