Back to News

Robertson School graduates 80 students at December Commencement

Dec 16, 2019

Posted in: News

More than 80 graduate and undergraduate celebrated their college graduation at the commencement ceremony of the Richard T. Robertson School of Media and Culture at the Richmond Convention Center on Dec. 13. 



Interim Director Dr. Marcus Messner and Dr. Katherine Bassard, Interim Senior Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs at VCU's College of Humanities and Sciences, congratulated seniors from the undergraduate advertising, public relations and journalism programs and graduate students from the Strategic Public Relations Master's Program in front of a crowd of around 800 relatives and friends. 


“We wish you all the best in your lives and in your careers. Thank you for being part of our Robertson School family at VCU,” Messner said.

The commencement address was delivered by Robertson School alumna Taya Jarman, who is the Population Health Communications Director for the Virginia Department of Health. Public Relations Prof. Judi Crenshaw introduced Jarman.


"You have to hustle. You’re young, you’re energetic, you have the time. Opportunities might not automatically open up for you, jobs will not call you back, layoffs will happen, doors will close. Find ways to power through," said Jarman. "In these stories of wins and loses I’ve shared, the moral is whether you are winning or losing – you have to know how and keep powering through."

Student speaker Owen Fitzgerald told his peers that "what I’m perhaps most proud of is that our journeys do not stop here. The knowledge we have gained here at VCU and the experiences we have shared will allow us to stand out in our fields immediately."


The faculty of the Robertson School honored the following graduates with faculty awards:

Christine Reyes, Faculty Award for Creative Advertising

Austin Morales, Faculty Award for Strategic Advertising

Alyssa Bernier, Faculty Award for Broadcast Journalism

Owen Fitzgerald, Faculty Award for Digital Journalism

Emily Fair, Faculty Award for Public Relations

The Kappa Tau Alpha VCU Chapter, a national honor society, also recognized graduate students Chenelle Laroche and Jaqueline Van Dao with the KTA Top Scholar awards.


You can view a digital photo album from the commencement ceremony on the Facebook page of the Robertson School.