Back to News

Dr. McIntyre honored with AEJMC Kopenhaver Junior Woman Scholar Award

Aug 12, 2019

Posted in: News

By Taylor Burress, Communications Intern

Karen McIntyre
Dr. Karen McIntyre

Dr. Karen McIntyre, assistant professor of journalism in the Robertson School, has been honored with the 2019 Lillian Lodge Kopenhaver Junior Woman Scholar Award of the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication. According to AEJMC, the award “is designed to honor junior faculty researchers and encourage them as they pursue their research agendas in the academy."

"I cannot think of anyone more deserving of this award than Dr. McIntyre," said Dr. Marcus Messner, interim director of the Robertson School. "She has had such a tremendous impact with her research on solutions journalism. We are very proud of her."

“I'm absolutely thrilled and honored to win this award. It feels deeply gratifying to have my work recognized,” McIntyre said. “I'm grateful for the Lillian Lodge Kopenhaver Center for the Advancement of Women in Communication and the AEJMC Commission on the Status of Women, who sponsor this award.”

This recognition came after McIntyre returned home from her year abroad as a Fulbright Scholar. The panel of judges found Dr. McIntyre's extensive research record, in addition to her Fulbright grant work, particularly impressive.

“I received the news shortly after I returned home from my Fulbright in Rwanda, and it was a fantastic welcome-home gift," Mcintyre said. “I'm bummed that I was not able to attend the AEJMC pre-conference where the award was presented, but I got married that week." 

The award was presented at the AEJMC 2019 Conference in Toronto, Canada on Aug. 6.