Faculty and Staff

Faculty and Staff

 

Faculty

The faculty for the Richard T. Robertson School of Media and Culture is an impressive mix of professionals and researchers from a variety of communications backgrounds. Instructors provide office hours at the beginning of each semester. You may dial the office directly to speak to the faculty member or leave a voice message. You also may call the school’s administrative offices at (804) 828-2660. All offices are located on the Monroe Park campus in the Temple Building on W. Main St.


Bajkiewicz, Tim

Associate Professor, Broadcast Journalism and Interim Associate Director
B.A., M.A., University of Florida
Ph.D., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Office: 2210 (administrative) and 1149-D (teaching)
Phone: (804) 828-4203
Email: tbajkiewicz@vcu.edu



Briones, Rowena
Assistant Professor, Public Relations
B.A., The College of New Jersey
M.A., Ph.D., University of Maryland
Office: 2203-F
Phone: (804) 827-2048
Email: rlbriones@vcu.edu


Camden, Bridget
Associate Professor, Advertising
B.A., Virginia Commonwealth University
M.S., VCU Adcenter
M.F.A., School of Art Institute of Chicago
Office: 2208E
Phone: (804) 827-3730
Email: bkcamden@vcu.edu


Cheng, Hong
Professor and Director
M.A., Shanghai International Studies University
Ph.D., Pennsylvania State University
Office: 2218
Phone: (804) 828-2660
Email: hcheng2@vcu.edu


Farrar, William
Instructor and Undergraduate Public Relations Sequence Coordinator
Office: 1102
Phone: (804) 827-2051
Email: wfarrar@vcu.edu


Jin, Yan
Affiliate Graduate Faculty Member
B.A., Peking University
M.A., Ph.D., University of Missouri-Columbia
Email: yanjin@uga.edu


Jennings, Marcel
Assistant Professor, Advertising
A.S. Richard Bland College
B.S., M.S. Virginia Commonwealth University
Office: 2203B
Phone: (804) 827-3568
Email: mjennings2@vcu.edu


Martin, Ernest F.
Associate Professor, Public Relations
B.A., Morningside College, Sioux City, Iowa
M.A., Ph.D., University of Missouri, University of Missouri-Columbia
Phone: (804) 827-3767
Email: efmartin2@vcu.edu
Office: 2208C


Meganck, Shana
Assistant Professor, Public Relations
B.A., Mary Baldwin College
M.A., University of Georgia
Ph.D., Virginia Commonwealth University
Office: Temple 1110
Phone: (804) 828-6695
Email: megancksl@vcu.edu


Messner, Marcus
Associate Professor, Journalism and Coordinator for Research and Innovation
B.A., Angelo State University, Texas
M.A., Ph.D., University of Miami, Florida
Office: Temple 1110
Phone: (804) 827-0252
Email: mmessner@vcu.edu


Medina-Messner, Vivian
Instructor, Journalism
B.A., American University of Paris, France
M.A., Florida International University
Office: Temple 1149-C
Phone: (804) 827-3775
Email: vmedinamessn@vcu.edu


Nicholson, June O.
Professor, Journalism and Director of Graduate Studies
B.A., University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
M.A., American University
Office: 1108
Phone: (804) 827-0251
Email: jonichol@vcu.edu


Oglesby, Bill
Assistant Professor, Journalism and Undergraduate Journalism Sequence Coordinator
B.A., Washington and Lee University
J.D., Pepperdine University
Office: 1149-E
Phone: (804) 827-2785
Email: boglesby@vcu.edu


Park, EunHae “Grace”
Assistant Professor, Public Relations
B.S., M.A., Ewha Womens University, Kansas State University
Ph. D., University of Missouri
Office: 2203A
Phone: (804) 82806790
Email: epark2@vcu.edu


Reid, Leonard
Affiliate Professor
B.S., Virginia Commonwealth University
M.S., Ph.D., University of Illinois
Email: lnreid@uga.edu


Rowe, Peyton
Associate Professor, Advertising
B.A., University of Virginia
M.F.A., Virginia Commonwealth University
Office: 2208-D
Phone: (804) 827-3733
Email: prowe@vcu.edu


Sherman, Scott F.
Associate Professor and Undergraduate Advertising Sequence Coordinator
A.D., Northwest Mississippi Junior College
B.S., James Madison University
M.A., Syracuse University
Office: 2203-C
Phone: (804) 827-3777
Email: sfsherman@vcu.edu


Shoval, Ashley
Assistant Professor, Advertising
M.S., VCU Adcenter
Office: 2208
Phone: (804) 827-3725
E-mail: amshoval@vcu.edu


South, Jeff
Associate Professor, Journalism, and Director of Undergraduate Studies
B.A., University of Texas
Office: 1149-B
Phone: (804) 827-0253
Email: jcsouth@vcu.edu
Fall 2014 office hours: Mondays and Wednesdays, 10 a.m.-noon; Tuesdays, 2-4 p.m.; and by appointment


Thomas, Clarence
Associate Professor, Broadcast Journalism
B.A., Hampton Institute
M.S., Syracuse University
Ph.D., University of Florida
Office: 2203-E
Phone: (804) 827-3772
Email: cwthomas@vcu.edu


Zhang, Yuan
Assistant Professor, Broadcast Journalism, Coordinator for Global Programs
B.A., Beijing Foreign Studies University
M.A., University of Pennsylvania
Ph.D., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Office: 1112
Phone: (804) 827-0250
Email: yzhang22@vcu.edu


Staff

The staff for the Robertson School is an impressive mix of professionals whose efforts help us complete our missions of teaching, scholarship and service. You may dial the office directly to speak to the staff member or leave a voice message. You also may call the school’s administrative offices at (804) 828-2660. All offices are located on the Monroe Park campus in the Temple Building on W. Main St.


Cramer, Susan
Undergraduate Academic Adviser
Office: 2208-H
Phone:  (804) 827-9950
Email:  cramersb@vcu.edu


Diggs-Parker, Angela
Financial Manager
Office: 2208-G
Phone: (804) 827-3717
Email: ardiggs@vcu.edu


Geerdes, John
Broadcast Video Engineer
Office: 1120
Phone: (804) 827-3704
Email: jsgeerde@vcu.edu


Lineberry, William
Administrative Assistant, Travel
Office: 2208
Phone: (804) 827-7510
Email: lineberrywd@vcu.edu


Long, Natasha J.
Coordinator of Student Services
Office: 2208-I
Phone: (804) 828-2660
Email: longnj@vcu.edu


Lynch, Frances
Administrative Specialist
Office: 2216
Phone: (804) 828-2660
Email: mflynch@vcu.edu


McDearmon, Maggie
Career Development Adviser
Office: 2208A
Phone: (804) 828-1100
Email: mcdearmonme@vcu.edu


Stewart, Lauren
Assistant Director for Development
Office: 2208B
Phone: (804) 827-3761
Email: stewartla@vcu.edu


Williams, Pamela
Executive Assistant
Office: 2220
Phone: (804) 827-3785
Email: ptwilliams2@vcu.edu